Farewell, Dear Anne

Yesterday, we buried Anne at a National
Cemetery.

The funeral service was beautiful. Upon entering the church, Anne’s body was nestled comfortably in a beautiful white casket. The funeral home took very good care of her. Her body appeared to be at peace. Jade’s cousin, Patrice, sang a beautiful solo. I cried deep, healing tears. By the end of the service, I was able to wipe my tears and comfort myself in the knowledge that Anne is no longer in pain. But, her absence is and always will be felt in our family.

So, as with everything, we will pick ourselves up and move forward day by day. Farrah has a long road ahead of her. I cannot imagine the level of loneliness she will feel when the dust settles and everyone goes home. I will try to be a good friend and give her space when she needs it and company when she needs it.

Greg’s health has gotten worse. He wasn’t able to attend Anne’s funeral yesterday. His carbon dioxide levels were extremely high and the doctors have put him on a breathing tube in hopes of increasing his oxygen stats. We are waiting to hear what the next steps should be at this point.

Jade and I are managing well despite the chaos surrounding us. Thank you all for your continued support.

4 thoughts on “Farewell, Dear Anne

  1. It is such a huge loss for you, and from what you’ve told us about Anne, I know her absence will leave a huge hole in your life. I’m praying for you and your family, but I’m also glad you were able to get a small bit of closure at her memorial service. Big hugs!

Leave a Reply

