Cancer Strikes Again…

Ever heard the expression that lightning never strikes the same place twice? Well, that clearly doesn’t apply to cancer in this family.  Yesterday, while en route to the funeral home to make arrangements for Anne’s funeral, her husband, Greg, was in a car accident. He was rushed to local hospital with concerns that his ankle was broken.  Due to his large size, the hospital transferred him to another nationally ranked hospital for a CT scan.  As it turns out, Greg’s ankle wasn’t broken but the scan revealed that he has an undetermined type of cancer that has spread through his back, legs, and lungs.  At this point, we don’t have specifics regarding the type of cancer or his treatment options.  Greg is morbidly obese, has high blood pressure, congestive heart failure, and type 2 diabetes so his prognosis doesn’t look good at this point. His breathing was erratic and the doctors considered putting him on a ventilator.  Luckily, after much intervention, it was determined that Greg didn’t need to be on a ventilator.

Three days ago, Anne lost her battle with breast cancer and today, her husband was diagnosed with cancer.  If I weren’t living in this situation, I wouldn’t believe this story to be true.  Sadly it is.

We have pushed off Anne’s funeral until Tuesday in hopes that her husband will be well enough to attend the funeral.

When it rains, it pours.

7 thoughts on “Cancer Strikes Again…

  1. I am so very sorry. My heart aches for all of you.

    Cancer is an ugly, vicious beast that knows no bounds. I am sure that Anne is there, helping Greg along this next leg of his journey, wherever it is leading him. ❤

  2. UGH!!!! My husband, his brother and his mother all had cancer. It was the most horrible thing I have ever witnessed!! I am sure you completely understand. I am soooooo sorry!

  3. My thoughts are with you and your family. I can’t even begin to imagine what everyone is going through. I’m so sorry.

  4. Wow, that’s a lot to deal with in such a short time. To think this all came about when he was on his way to the funeral home to make arrangements for his wife. I agree with kirrax– life can be very cruel. I hope everything turns out OK for him.

Leave a Reply

