Hot Flashes, Headaches, and Nausea, Oh My!

Clomid (clomiphene citrate) is an oral, nonsteroidal, ovulatory stimulant used to treat ovulatory dysfunction and polycystic ovary syndrome.  It works by stimulating an increase in the amount of hormones that support the growth and release of a mature egg (ovulation). To those of us in the medicated TTC world, Clomid is often the first medication prescribed to women who do not ovulate on their own or who desire a stronger ovulation.

Clomid has a whole host of potential side effects.  As of today’s date, I have experienced the following side effects since I have been taking 100mg of this medication nightly:

  • Headache – And by headache I mean the kind that wakes you from sleeping at night.  The kind of headache that makes being in a brightly lit room (i.e. my lovely window filled office at work) extremely uncomfortable.  I suffer from migraines anyway so this headache thing is not fun.
  • Nausea – Anyone who knows me offline can tell you that I have a really, really sensitive stomach.  Everything causes nausea in me.  Thank you Clomid for amplifying this for me.
  • Hot Flashes – Today it is a warm, 96°F (approximately 36°C) in my neck of the woods.  There’s nothing quite like experiencing a hot flash in this weather. Not fun.  At all.  My little fan on my desk has become my best friend.  Thank God for air conditioning.
  • Moodiness – Jade lucked out on this one.  Unlike with the Femara, so far, my emotional outbursts have been limited.  What I can say is that there are times that I can literally feel my irritation level rising.  It’s almost humorous to me.

Overall, I feel like I’ve had fewer side effects with Femara but that the Clomid side effects weren’t nearly as bad as I was expecting.  At least not yet…

I start Follistim injections tomorrow.

1348717606903_2228565

One thought on “Hot Flashes, Headaches, and Nausea, Oh My!

Leave a Reply

