Taking a Step

“The mind can go in a thousand directions, but on this beautiful path, I walk in peace. With each step, the wind blows. With each step, a flower blooms.”
― Thich Nhat Hanh

Tomorrow is a big day for us on our journey to motherhood. Tomorrow, I find out the results of the many, many blood tests they ran. Tomorrow, I will no longer have to speculate about the possible worst case scenarios I could encounter. Tomorrow.

I am so very nervous. As much as I am trying to remain positive, my mind continues to explore the possible worst case scenarios. It’s not that I am a negative person; I’m typically Miss Susie Sunshine when it comes to other people. I just can’t seem to shake my own negativity in this situation. What if Dr. M tells me that my likelihood of conceiving using IUI is slim to none? What if the oral ovulation induction meds don’t induce ovulation in me? What if I have a major underlying medical obstacle of which I’m not even aware? My mind can create a thousand possible scenarios.

Jade is my pillar of strength. She reminded me to just breathe. Breathe and remember that each step is a step. Even the smallest step is a step forward. So, I will take this step timidly and with fear while remembering that every journey begins with a single step.

Whatever your religious or spiritual beliefs, please take a moment to say a prayer or send positive energy into the universe for us. Any bit of light gives me the strength to take a step forward.

Live in the Sunshine

3 thoughts on “Taking a Step

Leave a Reply

